Home->Awards->Non Gallantry Awards->Prakram Padak

Non Gallantry Awards
Prakram Padak


1.    Awarded to the following categories of personnel who sustained/sustain wounds as a result of direct enemy action in any type of operations of counterinsurgency operations. This will take effect from 15 Aug 1947:  -  

(a)  All ranks of the Army, the Navy, the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, Territorial Army, J&K Militia and any other armed forces of the Union .

(b)   All ranks of Railway Protection Force, Police Forces, Home Guards, Civil Defence Organization and any other Organization specified by Government.

Note  Crews, including ejection crews of an aircraft disabled by enemy action, who though they may not have been otherwise wounded, sustain any injury while abandoning the aircraft or as a result of the subsequent landing of the aircraft, will be entitled to the award of the Medal. The medal shall not be awarded posthumously.

Bar to the Medal  

2.     If any recipient of the Parakram Padak has again sustained/sustains a wound as a result of direct enemy action in any type of operations or counter-insurgency operations on or after    15th August, 1947 as would have made the recipient eligible to the riband by which the Parakram Padak is suspended, and for every such additional wound sustained, an additional Bar shall be added.

This is the Official Indian Army Web Portal,maintained & managed  by the Indian Army.
Site hosted by NIC.
Last Updated on 03 Aug 2015 Site best viewed in IE 6.0 and above