Home->Veterans->Regimental Association->Rajput Regiment->Regimental Centre->Home

Brief History - The Rajput Regimental Centre Fatehgarh
Brief History - The Rajput Regimental Centre Fatehgarh

Centre's Formative Years

In 1921, the Indian Army was re-organised. The Infantry was grouped in 19 groups, each called a Regiment. Battalions became mixed class battalions, with companies of prescribed classes. The double company system was abolished. Each Regiment had five active battalions, one Training Centre and one Territorial Battalion. In 1922, the Rajput Group was formed. 16 RAJPUT(the Lucknow Regiment) which had moved to Fatehgarh, was converted into a Training Battalion. In 1942, it was designated as the 7th Rajput Regiment Centre. Lieutenant Colonel JC Mckenna, DSO and Subedar Major Lachhman Singh became the first ever Commanding Officer and Subedar Major respectively of The Rajput Regimental Centre.

There is a story behind the Regiment being named the 7th, through seniority warranted a higher place. It was named at the request of Major General Parr who had commanded the 7th RAJPUTs in Mesopotamia during World War I. He desired that the Regiment to which his battalion, the old 7th RAJPUT, now belonged, be named the 7th Rajput Regiment. The 7th Rajput Regiment finally comprised of:-

  • 2nd RAJPUT designated as 1/7th RAJPUT.
  • 4th RAJPUT designated as 2/7th RAJPUT.
  • 7th RAJPUT designated as 3/7th RAJPUT.
  • 8th RAJPUT designated as 4/7th RAJPUT.
  • 11th RAJPUT designated as 5/7th RAJPUT.
  • 16th RAJPUT designated as 10/7th RAJPUT (Training Centre).

During the Second World War, it was the largest Centre in India having approximately 12,000 recruits. In 1945, the Centre was re-designated as the Rajput Regimental Centre.

The class proportion then was 50% Rajputs and 50% Musalmans.

This is the Official Indian Army Web Portal,maintained & managed  by the Indian Army.
Site hosted by NIC.
Site best viewed in IE 6.0 and above