DGMS (Army)


Lt General Bipin Puri, VSM, PHS
Director General Medical Services (Army)


Lt Gen Bipin Puri assumed charge as Director General Medical Services (Army) on 01 Jun 2017 on reversion from Indian Navy to Indian Army (AMC). An alumnus of the Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, General Bipin Puri was commissioned in Indian Army (AMC) on 30 Mar 1979. His seniority in the present rank is 01 Apr 2016.


A Paediatric Surgery Specialist, the General Officer served as Director general Medical Services (Navy) from 01 Jul 2016 to 31 May 2017 and Director General (Org & Pers) in the office of DGAFMS from 01 Apr 2016 to 30 Jun 2016 before taking over as DGMS (Army). Some of his important appointments include Sr. Consultant (Surgery) in the O/o DGAFMS, Assistant Chief of Integrated Defence Staff (Medical) in HQ IDS, MG (Med) HQ Northern Command at Udhampur and DDG (Coord) at the O/o DGAFMS. The General Officer has commanded Command Hospital (Northern Command), Udhampur and 155 Base Hospital, Tejpur.


He did his Post Graduation in Gen Surg from University of Poona in the year 1985, M.Ch in (Paed Surg) from PGI Chandigarh in the year 1993 and a Fellowship in Paediatric Urology in Birmingham Children’s Hospital (UK) in 1997.


The General Officer has pioneered the NUSS Procedure for Pectus Excavatum deformity in India and has conducted various workshops to showcase the procedure. For his contribution towards field of Paed Surgery, the General Officer has been honoured with the Ethicon Travelling fellowship award in Paed Surgery for the year 2005 by the Indian Association of Paed Surgeons. For his excellence in medical profession, the General Officer has been awarded “Double Helical’s National Health Award-2017” by Indian Medical Association, which was presented by Hon’ble Health Minister Shri JP Nadda in May 2017.


For his distinguished services, he has been awarded GOC-in-C Commendation in the year 2010, Chief of the Army Staff Commendation in the years 2001 & 2012 and appointed as President’s Honorary Surgeon (PHS) with effect from 01 Jun 2016. He has also been conferred with Vishisht Seva Medal on 26 Jan 17.